2016 WRX 6 speed manual / clutch engagement from a stop
Subaru WRX Forums - Powered by vBulletin

2016 WRX 6 speed manual / clutch engagement from a stop

So I have been driving manual tranny cars most of my life, including the year + I have had my '16 WRX. I will not say I am an expert with manual transmission cars but I do okay, not horrible with heel toe downshifts, etc. I will swallow my pride however when it comes to getting my WRX going from a stop in everyday driving, as in not racing starts. My issue is not finding the clutch friction point, it's with the hyper sensitive gas pedal. It's either too much and I look like a noob, or not enough and I don't get a smooth start. Any sort of "spirited" starts are easy, just finding giving the right amount of gas for more gentle starts such as in heavy traffic or grandma in the car is hard for me. I test drive a Kia with a manual that my wife was looking at a number of years ago and it was very sensitive as well.

Is this sensitive gas pedal common for this generation of WRX?
    Can anyone share their tips or tricks for getting a nice smooth start from a stop under relaxed driving conditions?

Thank you.
    My wife thanks you