Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,397 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I finally got my 2.5i out to the Autocross track.

First of all, I'm not a pro driver or anything.

I'd like to think I'm decently good, but doesn't everyone? ;)

This is my third-ish autocross season. All the cars i've raced have been subarus. Two different 2000 2.5RSs, and a friend's heavily modded SVX. More often than not, I've gotten 1st through 3rd place, usually in a field of 7 or more.

My setup for my 5 runs:

-Perrin 22mm front bar set to full stiff with Perrin front endlinks
-Perrin 19mm rear bar set to medium stiffness with Rallitek Rear endlinks
-Cusco Front Strut Tower Brace
-STI Pinks
-2002 WRX 16x6.5" wheels with Falken Azenis RT-615s, 215/45R16 (Yes, this is LESS than stock tire diameter, which tends to give better acceleration)
-I was running 42 PSI cold on all four tires and I balanced the temps on the tires to 45 PSI once hot, which seemed pretty good.
-VDC was "ON"...(I forgot to try turning it off, although it wasn't blatantly obvious that it was hindering me, and it may have helped)
-Outside Temp was low 90s Fahrenheit and probably about 75-85% humidity and occasional gray clouds. (OMG, it was a hot day, I had a nice Burger King Oreo Shake after it was all over!)
-completely stock engine, intake, and exhaust (not even an axleback or hi-flow filter)

Observations:

First of all, the car handled very predictably. Didn't hit any cones, no-spin-outs.

Occasionally the car would lose the rear end for about half a second and then regain control.

When pushing the car too hard, I'd tend to understeer (as one would think with my sway setup) Oversteering is fun and all, but it does tend to slow you down if you have too much of it.

The stock brakes on the 2.5i premium are REALLY good, they seemed to brake better than the Subaru 4 pot fronts and 2 pot rears I had on a previous impreza.