Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just ordered a Pioneer AVIC-F90BT which i plan to install myself. I have never done anything like this before but I have done some research and it seems pretty straight forward.

I have a couple of questions about where to install the microphone and gps antenna. I have read in some other posts that people are installing the gps under the dash in the pocket behind the stereo between the air ducts. From what I can tell people say the results have been good. Has anyone have any better ideas or things I should look out for?

I am also trying to figure out the best place to install the microphone. The installation manual says above the visor or on the steering column. My goal is to install the deck while taking apart as little of the dash/car as possible. Where have people been installing their microphone and do you have any advice on getting it there?

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
2,745 Posts
If you shoot me a PM I'll remember to take some pics of mine tomorrow...

Do you have a hatch or sedan?

I ran mine to the back of my cabin there's a little pad back there that worked perfect...

As for the Mic. I haven't found a permanent solution yet, right now I have it hiding in one of my gauges...

~Mike

·
Registered
1,194 Posts
I'll get some pics of mine, as well. I have a 700bt. W/ the new 2.0 firmware update, it is really nice.

joneSi

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If you shoot me a PM I'll remember to take some pics of mine tomorrow...

Do you have a hatch or sedan?

I ran mine to the back of my cabin there's a little pad back there that worked perfect...

As for the Mic. I haven't found a permanent solution yet, right now I have it hiding in one of my gauges...

~Mike
PM sent. I have the 5dr.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5