Subaru WRX Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y’all,

Finally traded in my 18-year-old stick shift Civic after driving her for 12 years. Kind of a bittersweet goodbye but I’m stoked to pick up my WRX dream car. It’s a 2017 Premium with 33,000 miles and everything is stock but the wheels and tires.

I’ve been driving stick for 15 years now (albeit only Hondas) so I know my way a around a manual pretty well. Still, I understand the WRX is a very different clutch, feel, and driving experience entirely. I test drove the Subaru before I bought her and it all went fine but I was stressing the clutch a bit to where there was a slight smell.

Any good advice on different driving techniques, skills adjustments, or maintenance know how for someone making this transition between these brands and models?

Not new to a manual, but I realize I’m very new to a sports car and this kind of stick shift. Open to any and all suggestions and input.

Thanks in advance!

- Hock

·
Registered
8 Posts
So, Ill throw in my two cents worth. One problem most people have moving from another manual trans platform to a WRX is RPM drop. The WRX has what most would call a long delayed RPM drop coming off the throttle during shifts, especially the 1-2 shift. This becomes less of a problem as you take the car passed 2500 rpm on the 1-2 shift. The car does not like a fast shift, especially when the trans is cold. In fact, even with the SUBARU MT fluid it is still a sensitive shift on the 1-2 when cold. Once the fluid has warmed up, it shifts absolutely great. It will take some time to get the car to