Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm kinda new in the ICE department. I've never wanted to mod my car down the ICE path,but i was just thinking it would be nice to have a nice LCD HU.

But the problem is i don't know where to start. I want to continue using my stock speakers and on steering wheel controls and probably add GPS function to the HU. Is it possible?

I understand tat if we change the head unit we will have to forgo the steering wheel controls. is that true?

And i don't wan to spend more than the LCD HU to get amps and speakers.

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
There a few brand that offer steering control integration, but i cannot confirm yet that they will be compatible with our car
so far i know clarion and eclipse offering them, as far NAV i dont know Telealtas or Navteq offer the best maps for singapore, but one thing i know is that you will have to upgrade them often, as singapore road are changing often

By changing your HU you will probably increase your sound quality quite a bit compare to the stock amplifier, but if you want to add better speaker you will have to go with a external amplifier to make your speaker worth it

If you need somebody to set it for you i can give you a hand when i will be around next feb.

Last year i help a SG friend to buy a complete setup for is Mazda3 and one thing i can tell you is stay away of the american price cause they are way to much overprice in singapore !! for the japanese brand they are cheaper there than in america on the other hand

i will give you a exemple, a Alpine amp that retails 500$CAN here was 400$SG and a Rockford Amp that retails 250$CAN was 600$SG !!!

I will try to doublecheck with the clarion sales representant to be sure that there product offer a full OEM steering control integration with our car, i will keep you updated on this

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter #3