Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was going to teach an idot in a V6 mustang a lesson the day before yesterday, but when I down shifted from 5th to 4th my car fell on its face. I have not had any loss of power while going up through the gears it is just when I down shift. I was running about 70mph or so when I down shifted. Has anyone else had this problem?

·
Registered
1,109 Posts
Don't waste time down shifting on a v6. Just punch it!!

·
Registered
46 Posts
Yeah, our cars make max hp @ 5200, so you will pretty much fall flat on your face after this rpm. I'm new to turbos and am curious as to how we can continue to make bigger hp numbers after 5.2k and still use the same turbo.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
No I dont have any mods done to it yet but I have a new Greddy BOV, Perrin boost controller, and a Injen CAI on the way for it though. I am looking for a dual exhaust setup for it since my car is a sedan. I like that look better. If any of you guys see one let me know.

·
Registered
51 Posts
I've done plenty of downshifts around town to get around or avoid idiot drivers, and have not had any problems. Granted, my speeds were between 35-50 and I was probably in lower gears. Downshifting from 5 to 4 at 70 mph should still put you within the grunt range of the motor, I would think.

·
Registered
72 Posts