Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
727 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well i have a 08 wrx 5 door its my first everything (first subaru,awd,turbo,import)

well from what i understand every mod done to a subaru should be back up with a tune it seems like so iv decided that will prolly be my first mod

im a automotive student at a tech school and i know alot about cars but iv never tuned anything other than a mustang and it was NA and was done with SCT dealer software and alls you did was put in the mods it would generate a safe tune and then you tune off of that is their anything out their like that for subaru

ii understand the basics i just need to know where i should start where i can read up on tuning (books or online) and what options are out their i know their is AP and their is opensource i just dont know which would be best for me

if i go AP do i have to pay for a new tune every time or is it a open database where once you pay the initial cost you have access to multiple tunes or is it a one shot deal

if i go open source do i need a wideband immediately or can i go off of the stock 02 until i get to a certain point and is their any places that i can find tunes that are close to my setup like a safe tune and just mod off of it or would i have to tune off of a base map

im trying to get a hold of a kid at school who i have had classes with he has a 07 wrx and uses a open source program on his laptop he did his tunes and he even did a launch control built into the stock ecu (and i know that he also tuned for a couple other people at school as well) but im not sure if he graduated already or if he just switched to morning classes

any help or point in the right direction would be much appreciated