Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so total newb here. I want a total thumping system. Nothing too booming, like a bandpass, but definitely loud is needed. Anyway I've been doing a lot of research and here is what I think would be an appropriate setup.

JVC KW-XG500 H/U (simply because its double DIN... dont really want to leave have of my dash open...)
http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?showAll=N&g=300&i=105KWGX500&tp=5684&tab=features_and_specs

Pyle 1.2 Farad Capacitor
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_12388_Pyle+PLDCP1.2KIT.html

Either Alpine PDX 1.1000 or two Kenwood KAC-9104D

Two 12" Alpine type R (2 or 4 ohm DVC)

and this box: http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_7509_Sonic+Sub+Box-+2SV12+-GRAY-.html

First of all would all this even work on my stock battery/alternator? Or would i need an Optima Yellow top or something.
Second for wiring where do you tap the turn on lead to? and how do you attach the capacitor (I know what wires and stuff but im taking like actually connecting the wires to the cap...)

Any info appreciated. Im also thinking about just getting one Kicker L7 12" and running at 750 watts... ive heard thats much simpler...

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
First off, drop the cap, you dont need this of you do the following:

add a 4g to the batterie ground
add a 4g for the (+) off your alternator
add a 4g to any engine ground

that will cost you less than a cap and will be way more effective

as for the HU the 500 only have 2 preout 2.5V so if you want that HU consider getting the 700 for 50$ more you get a third preout with a sub control and a USB port

for doubledin you can also look at the kenwood stuff for a more powerfull internal amp

finaly for the amp/sub setup
good choice with the type-r
but yes the alpine PDX is nice but really overpriced and i rather get the Excelon KAC-X1R than the KAC-9104D