Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What exactly does it mean when you get your car "tuned"? I have never done this before but am interested because I hear a lot of people saying that getting the car tuned is a great initial modification.

What type of places offer a "tune"?
How much should I spend for one?
What kind of gains should I expect? My ride is pretty much stock except for an SPT exhaust.

Thanks for any and all advice guys!

·
Registered
421 Posts
Ok our car's mass produced in the factory, including the settings in the ECU.

Since every engine's different, the mass produced ecu have been tuned to a very conservative timing to ensure large proportion of the production cars don't have any problems of engine knocking. (having said that, our ECU's got a very good engine knocking detection system)

So having a tune will allow your tuner to optimise your engine's performance, by bringing the timing closer to the ideal. There's currently ECUTek, a software thats installed into your ECU to allow the tuner to tweak the settings in it.

ECUTek should cost you 400-500USD, and the cost of tuning varys.

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
This is a very open ended question... Here is my down and dirty opinion

A "Tuned Car" is a car that has its ecu reprogrammed to account for any motor modifications, for example your SPT CBE allows your ride to exhale a little easier and will raise the hp a little. if you add a downpipe to that, you will turn your car into a whole different vehical, more boost, more hp, more sound it goes on and on. If you’re thinking of it as an initial mod, it is a good way to go if you are planning more mods to your motor. The best thing to do is some research, and figure out what you want your car to do for you.