Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry this is a nub question, but I'm new to the subie world. Anyways, I'm considering purchasing a WRX sometime within the next month or so, but I currently need some clarification. Alot of the threads here say to start modding, the perrin or cobb AP is pretty much a necessity; however, whenever I look at the modifications people have on their cars, they don't list the AP as a mod. I thought this was detrimental to the car ???. Anyways, I would really appreciate any advice :D

Oh yeah, I was also wondering if anyone knew of any other wrx forums that focused on the 08+ models like this forum does. I found clubwrx.net, but the +08 models just feel like they were thrown in with the bunch. again, thanks for any help :D

-Jinho

·
Registered
344 Posts
The AP is an ecu tuning tool. If your plans include mods like, TBE or CAI you will need the car tuned. The AP allows company "A" to send you a Tuned Map for their Exhaust system, CAI, etc. The AP alone is very useful from the start because you can re-flash the stock ecu map for a Stage 1. Which requires no physical mods at all ;D The stage 1 map unlocks around 20-30 WHP (depending on who you talk to) which is not bad for the 700. It also has a host of on-board gauges and an OBDII code reader.It took me a while to spend that much money on some little gray box, but I'm really glad I did :)

·
Registered
421 Posts
There's actually alot of people here with the AP. I am one that believes in tuning a car, stock or not. Factory settings of Ignition timings etc are extremely conservative, understandably due to the cost reduction effect in mass production.

Anyway, yes its a necessity when you mod the car, cos even a change in the exhaust system or intakes will alter the car's rich/lean settings, and that may have a detrimental result in a long run.

And no, there's no other 08 WRX forums around. You're 1 of the lucky 600 to find us! ;)

·