Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I'm a noob, I admit it, but I gotta start somewhere.

The 2008 STi comes with a IHI VF48 turbo. Ok, now I understand that we can upgrade to this turbo or the AVO380 without any fuel system mods, So...
How do they relate to each other in terms of power output? Because honestly, If I can get the VF48 for less than 1/2 the price of the AVO and make the same power with a "subaru" part, then you know the rest.

Any gurus care to shed some light on this?
Thanks everyone!!

·
Registered
359 Posts
Are you going for top-end or an all around better turbo?
the 380 is a nice choice because it spools faster and doesn't run out of breath like our stock turbo's. I done know enough about the STi but I have a feeling for the same price as the 380 you could get more top end out of the avo420 so unless you got the vf48 for a killer deal I can't imagine why you'd want it. Btw check out forced performances website for a much more consumer friendly price on turbo's

·
Registered
2,522 Posts
Make sure that the VF48 that you are looking at is a ball bearing turbo... The AVO turbo is a real high quality turbo. Now many turbos are cheaper but the AVO will last a lot longer then any of them. But, do what is within your budget.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Make sure that the VF48 that you are looking at is a ball bearing turbo... The AVO turbo is a real high quality turbo. Now many turbos are cheaper but the AVO will last a lot longer then any of them. But, do what is within your budget.