Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
1,397 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Updated 5-21-09
--------------------------------------

I don't want to sound like a complete know-it-all...but this is what i've learned by having two NA imprezas in the GC8 body style...one was mostly stock...one upgraded out the butt....

I'm not a subaru mechanic or a "Professional tuner"...but this is the knowledge that I've gained through real-world experimentation through daily driving and autocross.

This thread is going to be a way of relaying info to the potential modder...not a "how-to thread" or a "Don't do this to your car thread"

I'll try to stick to well know facts...and not un-proven conjecture, although I might throw a little bit of theory in there...

Most of these facts/observations have been derived from working on the 99-01 RS...although most of this info can be applied to an 08 NA impreza.

Modding your engine or drivetrain should be done at your own risk, by the way, I assume no responsibility for mods you do...

Oh, and if I come across new info...I will update this post :)

(If this thread goes over well, i'm going to do a suspension version as well) :)

INTAKES

Ok, this is the first thing many people do with a new NA car that they want to add power to...

all you need is simple hand tools and you don't need to get under the car or own a jack/jackstands.

There are a couple types, stock, short ram, CAI, replacement hi-flow filter, and snorkel (oh yes, I've always wanted one of these)

Stock--best compromise for engine safety, power, and longevity (oh yeah, and it won't possibly void engine warranty)...the 08 actually has a type of Cold air intake (CAI) as it pulls air from the front of the hood...although it has several bends and obstructions.