Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
314 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have my plans "set" for my ICY WRX sedan. My plans for the car will be do some auto-x along with straight line runs. As I am totally new to any of this, I need some input:

1. I will be installing Cusco Zero2E coilovers and dropping the ride height 1-1.5". Based on my intended usage - should I choose 17" or 18" or does it matter? Will less side wall make a major/noticable impact when doing auto-x?

2. I have chosen the BBS RGR wheels. Specs are: 17 X 7.5" with 48 mm offset. Recommended tire size is 205/50-17. These are the specs as provided by Tirerack.com.
Do you think I can I go a little bit wider on the 7.5" rims and not get any rubbing with the drop?
At some point (when I go stage 3 next summer) I will put a big brake kit on. Probably AP racing. Do you think i will have a fitment issue with the 17" BBS wheels?

3. TPMS - because I live in Canada and I will have summer and winter wheel/tire set ups. Can I just get additional TPMS from Subaru mounted in the new wheels and then every thing will be plug and play, or will there need to be some form of electronic calibration done by them everytime I want to switch wheels?

3. Any thoughts on Toyo PROXES T1-R? I like the way they look, and sounds like they perform well based on what I've heard and read.

Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
314 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I just checked the BBS website looking for a 8"+ wide wheel in the RGR. Turns out there is a 18X 18.5 with a 35mm offset. I think this would really give the car an agressive stance (that I want).

Anyone know/suspect if this size would create any problems?

I am itching so bad to place the order for my wheels and but want to make sure I don't make a bad decision that I cannot live with.

·
Registered
220 Posts