Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy everyone,

It's 2 months or so and counting until i get my 08 WRX. I'm a noob so any feedback is welcome about this and any topic. My question is this:

Does the 08 WRX come with limited slip differentials or not? Also, if it doesn't, where would be a good place to get some? Is the VCD considered a limited slip as well?

-Z-

·
Registered
700 Posts
Re: VCD and Limited Slip?

No LCD this year and yes the VCD is considerd a type of traction control along with a y-x axis control. Some like it others dont.
i've been told we have LCD's in front and rear. and it seems like we do cuz in snow conditions i have never exp. 2 wheels on pavement and the other 2 on snow and the wheels on snow spinning like crazy which i see alot of 4wd trucks doing because they are not limited slip

·
Registered
1,643 Posts
Re: VCD and Limited Slip?

with the traction control (VDC?) off all 4 of my wheels spin....

but the VDC being on ... if you floor it on dry pavement around a roundabout for example... the resulting accurate directional control is AMAZING.

I leave the VDC on unless I'm trying to go fast or trying to purposely get sideways (dirt/snow/gravel).

I think it's alien technology from Japan.

·
Registered
421 Posts
the VDC works extremely well on the track too. Just turn your steering wheel, and see your car turn for you.

·
Registered
1,643 Posts
it's really amazingly simple... it uses the same concept as army tanks for turning (it puts more power to the wheels opposite of the direction you're turning to "rotate" the car... or "cuts power" to the other wheels depending on how you look at it ... glass is half empty half full kind of thing)

·
Registered
169 Posts
Yup. So in a traction scenario, like the one stated above, LSD = the tire with the friction gets the torque, VCD = Tire without the friction gets the brake. VCD is a Systems Scientists wet dream in action.

·
Registered