Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Didn't really see any threads on this subject, and well, I'm totally new to boosted car applications. My question is this: With the V2 AccessPort flashing to different octane fuel maps, will the reflash also control the wastegate settings? I.e., when running 87 obviously you can't run as much boost as 91, 93, 97, etc.

Or, will I need to either get a new mechanical or electronic wastegate and adjust it. Or, can the ECU control this as well?

I really am totally ignorant how this part of the process works.

·
Registered
549 Posts
um... even if your car is all stock on a wrx. you should be running at least 91.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
^^^

This I fully realize, but the question remains the same. I'm trying to understand how wastegates are controlled for the most part, and if using at AccessPort to reflash the ECU would change the wastegate to raise/lower boost.

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
^^^

This I fully realize, but the question remains the same. I'm trying to understand how wastegates are controlled for the most part, and if using at AccessPort to reflash the ECU would change the wastegate to raise/lower boost.
With a little bit of research you can find anything!! ::) This complete document should cover just about any tuning/wastegate question you have... I hope it helps ;D

http://www.cobbforums.com/forums/images/AccessTUNERSoftwareCalibrationTuningGuidesSubarusv111.pdf

Starting on page 12... How Subaru’s Factory Boost Control System Works

Bottom of page 14

"A wastegate actuator's function is to control the wastegate valve. The wastegate valve manages the exhaust energy
being directed into or by-passing the turbine housing. If the wastegate valve is fully closed, more exhaust energy is directed into the turbine housing causing