Subaru WRX Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok that my first time buying a brand new car (or having a brand new paints job)

So whe should i wax the car, on my previous car i was doing it like 3 times a year... but ive been told that its not good to wax a new paints !

is it a myth ? how long should i wait before the first wax ?

·
Registered
3,581 Posts
I waxed my car the first day I brought it home, I also washed it twice the same week. Mostly due to the bugs on the white front bumper, maybe I should have gone with a darker color but I needed a car before I moved.

I'm not an expert in any means for detailing but this is just my $.02

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
It is important to wax ur car with new paint. The was lays a layer of protection for ur new paint.

What you should not do is to polish so early in the game. Polishing will remove a thin layer of your new perfect finish, vs the adding of protective layer.

·
Registered
382 Posts
As stated, waxing is fine, just hold off on the polishing for now. If you suffer from a lot of grime and contaminants in the paint already, use a clay-bar to remove them, then apply a couple coats of wax.

·
Registered
122 Posts
2 days after buying my car it looked like this:

(man it was fun though, even if I am STILL cleaning finding mud in the engine bay

Attachments

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
i dont like winter cause its not so fun to wash my car when its below zero :p

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
hehe anyway everybody have a maid to wash their car in SG ;D

·
Registered
3,581 Posts
Only if I had a camera after every time I took my car on the dirt roads... I love it since I have the white and after I'm done you would think it was tan :D

·
Registered
421 Posts
hehe anyway everybody have a maid to wash their car in SG ;D